• News


Amanda Black leads MMA’s/Gospel artist set to make history

Amanda Black 17fGospel Star Lebo Sekgobela is looking to emulate the late Sfiso Ncwane (first gospel winner of the SAMA winner of the Record of the year) by winning the Song of The Year Award at this year’s Metro FM Music Awards’ (#MMA16).

The gospel name who surprised many when her track “Lion of Judah” topped the Metro FM Top 40 is up against names like Babes Wodumo (“Wololo”), Dr. Malinga (“Akulaleki”), Robbie Malinga & Musa (“Mthande”), Nasty C (Hell now”, King Monada (“Sekabora moreki”), Durban’s Finest, ft. Professor,  Amanda Black (Amazulu”, Black Motion (“Imali”), and Kwesta (“Ngudu”) for the prestigious award. The Best top 5 hit single is also hot with City Lyts - Vura, Riky Rick - Sidlukotini, AKA - One Time, Ms Pru - Ameni, and DJ Speedsta – Mayo vying for the award. She is also vying for the Top 5 female, and Urban Gospel Album awards with hr album “Restored”.

However, it is Amanda Black (pictured) who showed the competition dust and leads this year’s list with five nominations. Hoping to be biggest winner this year and taking home the R100 000 for each category, she is nominated for Best top 5 Female album, New albums, African pop albums, Best Single and R&B single awards.

‘Queen of Gqom’ Babes Wodumo is right behind with four at this year’s awards. These include Female, new artist, Dance albums, and the previously mentioned award.

Other multiple nominees include Nasty C, Brenda Mntabo, Robbie Malinga, Musa, Durban’s Finest, DJ Speedsta, Kwesta, Mobi Dixon, Soul Kulture and Thee Legacy. The latter picked up two nominations in the Best top 5 remixes for their tracks “Wena Wedwa” (Remix) and “Thee Legacy “S’thandwa Sami” Remix

The 16th edition of the Metro FM Music Awards is themed ‘What’s Next Is All That Matters,’ building on last year’s theme, ‘Legends Don’t Stop, They Ask What’s Next’. The theme indicates that it’s not just about getting that hit song play-listed on Metro FM, it’s not about finishing off a great album and it’s not about having a great video to go with your track, but about what you do next to continue building on your glories.

The #MMA16 will be held in Durban at the iNkosi Albert Luthuli ICC on Saturday 25 February 2017.

Voters can cast their votes in the Album category that includes Best African Pop Album, Best Compilation album, Best Dance Album, Best Duo/Group Album, Best Female Album, Best Hip Hop Album, Best Kwaito Album, Best Male Album, Best New Artist, Best Urban Gospel Album, Best Urban Jazz Album, and Song of the Year 2016. The single categories are Best Hit Single, Best R&B Single, Best Collaboration, Best Music Video, and Best Remix. Voting lines opened at 12am until 12 February at 11.59pm. To vote dial *120*1512# & follow the instructions. Only 500 votes per number (per cellphone) will be eligible to vote in each category. #MMA16. USSD rates apply.

MMA16 Special Awards including Best Styled Artist/Group, Best Produced Album, Listeners Choice (Artist/Group) and One Africa Award can only be voted for online on www.metrofmmusicawards.co.za or via www.metrofm.co.za. The receiver of the Lifetime Achiever Award will be chosen by the station.